Why?

AK Bayonets from China

Moderator: Mr. B.

kstim

Why?

Post by kstim »

Just curious, new collector. From my understanding from M Ivie's book and from various internet sources, the only Chinese ak bayonet (actually a variant) used by their military was the Type 81. All of the others, including the so called AK 47's were produced commercially to sell to (primarily) American collectors. So why do people want so much money for them? While I am new to the AK field, I have been collecting militaria for almost 50 years. One fact is that anything made to collect is in the end not collectible. I put these bayonets in the category of fakes, replicas, fantasy pieces, whatever. But as far as I am concerned, they have no collector value at all. Personal preference. If a soldier used it, I like it. If somebody just churned it out to sell, I won't pay a dime for it.
Mr. B.

Re: Why?

Post by Mr. B. »

Good question. The Chinese did make there own version of the Russian AK47 and the AK47 bayonet. The Chinese version was the Type 56. The early ones had the fittings to mount the AK47 bayonets. However the Chinese military may not have adopted them. The Chinese Military, (PLA), instead adopted a version of the Type 56 with a permanently installed folding spike bayonet. The early blade type AK47 bayonets were apparently issued and used by the Chinese militia and police. Below is a picture of an early Type 56, (milled receiver), with an AK 47 bayonet. Note the non-PLA uniform. The second picture is the Chinese Type 56 with the later AKM stamped receiver and the folding spike bayonet. Note the PLA uniform. Mike
s-l1600.jpg
Chinese AKM Spike.jpg
Mr. B.

Post by Mr. B. »